Education Minister inaugurates Committee to advise on re-opening of pre-tertiary schools

The Minister of Education, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, has inaugurated a 10-member committee in Accra to deliberate and advise on modalities for the re-opening of schools in the pre-tertiary subsector for the approval of the President.

This follows the address to the nation by President Akufo-Addo on Sunday 16th August 2020, which included the government’s intentions to consider the reopening of schools following the shutdown in March 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic breakout.

The committee is chaired by Prof. Dominic Fobih, a former Minister of Education and currently the chairman of the GETFund Board of Trustees.

The other members are;

  1. Mr. Michael Nsowah ~ Chair, GES Council
  2. Prof. Kwasi Opoku Amankwa ~ Director-General, GES
  3. Mr. Anthony Boateng ~ Deputy Director-General (M & S), GES
  4. Dr. Kwabena Tandoh ~ Deputy Director-General (Q & A), GES
  5. Mrs. Kate Appiah-Pinkrah ~ Director, Pre-Tertiary, MoE
  6. Mr. Madeez Adamu Issah ~ Rep, UNICEF
  7. Mr. I. K Mensah ~ Rep, Private Schools
  8. Nana Kwasi Amoako ~ P.T.A Chair, Accra Girls SHS
  9. Mrs. Patty Assan ~ Director, Schools, and Instructions

The committee is expected to report to the Minister on Monday 21st September 2020 with its recommendations.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s