MTN-SWAG awards set for October 10

The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) 2020 awards will take  place on October 10, 2020.The award is to confer honours on over 20 Ghanaian sportsmen and women who excelled in the discipline.

The awards was initially scheduled to take place on May 23, 2020 but was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

This is the 45th edition of the SWAG Awards since its inception.The awards has been the longest-running sports awards in the country.

Below are the nominees for the awards;

Special and Meritorious Awards:

Oteng Aboagye

Abdul Haye Yartey

Richard Akporkavie

Nii Odartey Lamptey

Beach Volleyball Team

Footballer of the Year (Male):

Jordan Ayew

Mubarak Wakaso

Thomas Partey

Personality of the Year:

Richard Oblitey Commey

4X100mts Relay Team:

Botso Nkegbe

National Team of the Year:


4×4 Relay Team

Footballer of the Year (Female):

Grace Asantewaa

Janet Egyiri

Elizabeth Addo

Footballer of the Player (Local):

Joseph Esso

Felix Annan

Shafiu Mumuni

Coach of the Year:

Nii Otoo Larkyne (Weightlifting)

Professional Boxer of the Year:

Richard Oblitey Commey

Amateur Boxer of the Year:

Shakul Samed

Female Athlete of the Year:

Nadia Eke (Triple Jumper)

Deborah Acquah (Long Jumper)

Rose Yeboah Amoanimaa (High Jumper)

Grace Obour(400 meter)

Male Athlete of the Year:

Joseph Paul Amoah (4x100m Relay Team)

Benjamin Kwaku Azamati (4x100m Relay Team)

Para-Athlete of the Year

Raphael Botsyo NkegbTam

Table Tennis Player of the Year:

Emmanuel Commey

Prospect of the Year

Rose Amoanimaa

Nuhu Gado Ibrahim

Rugby Player of the Year:

Anita Halm – Female

Alex Dorpenyo – Male

Armwrestler of the Year:

Derrick Kwakye – Male

Grace Mintah – Female

Weightlifters of the Year:

Christian Amoah(Male)

Winnifred Ntumi(Female)

Hockey Player of the Year (Male):

Ernest Opoku

Emmanuel Ankomah

Eugene Acheampong

Hockey Player of the Year (Female):

Mavis Berko

Elizabeth Opoku

Nafisatu Umaru







Dedication and Valour:

Saani Dendem – Anokye Stars

President’s Award:

Hon Joe Aggrey

Oheneba Charles

Professional Golfer of the Year:

Vincent Torgah

Emos Korblah

Kojo Barnni

Taekwondo Athlete of the Year:

Henrietta Naa Ayele Armah – Female

Benson Nii Adom Addo – Male

Corporate Award:



Ghana GasGoil

TT Brothers

Paa Kweku Eshun

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s