Australia & New Zealand beat Columbia to host 2023 Women’s World Cup


World football governing body, FIFA has announced the combined bid put together by Australia and New Zealand to edge out Colombia in today’s vote to award the hosting duties for the 2023 Women’s World Cup.

This will see Australia and New Zealand serve as co-hosts for the competition, which is the first time two countries from two separate confederations will host women’s football’s biggest championship, it will also be the first 32-team women’s championship.

The joint bid from Australia and New Zealand has been considered the leading contender to land the tournament for months with receiving a score of 4.1/5 which according to FIFA “[appeared] to present the most commercially favorable proposition”

Speaking on the Columbia bid, the FIFA evaluators warned that the country would require significant infrastructure investment, and “it is not clear if this level of investment will be available.”

Australia has competed in every Women’s World Cup since 1995, but the Matildas have never advanced past the quarterfinals in the competition, most recently getting knocked out on penalties to Norway in the Round of 16  of the 2019 edition in France, but both countries will be looking to benefit from home-field advantage when the competition is hosted in 2023.

FIFA announced its decision after its governing council held a vote by video conference. It also announced that the FIFA Council had approved $1 billion in investment in women’s soccer over the next four years.

By Leroy Hawkson | Head of Sports |

Written by


Leave a Reply



Contribute to quality education – Rt. Hon. Speaker


Liverpool end their 30-year wait for Premier League title